Non-governmental association “Plan Bleu pour l’Environnement et le Développement en Méditerranée”

The center is managed by « Plan Bleu pour l’environnement et le développement en Méditerranée », a non-governmental association under French law (Law of 1901).


Its funding is granted by Mediterranean Action Plan, in the form of a bi-annual budget, through specific grants in cash and kind from France. Allocations are also awarded by donors (European Commission , Global Environmental Facility, World Bank, …).

In compliance with French law, the Association provides annual account statements, certified by the relevant auditors.

The bureau

The Plan Bleu board was elected at the last general assembly:

Guillaume Sainteny, President

Yves Henocque , Treasurer

Jean de Montgolfier; Chief administrative officer

Christian Avérous, Vice-President

Jacques Theys, Vice-President

Denis Lacroix, Vice-President

Aldo Ravazzi Douvan, Vice-President

Guillaume Benoit, Vice-President

Lucien Chabason, Honorary president

Thierry Lavoux, Honorary president

The members

The list of members of the Association is established each year by the Board, which may set a list of guests as observers, if necessary.

Regional Activity Centre of Mediterranean Action Plan

In 1975, the Mediterranean States and the European Community approved the Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP) as an institutional framework for cooperation to address the common challenges of environmental degradation. Then, in 1976, the countries bordering the Mediterranean and the European community adopted the Barcelona Convention to protect the maritime environment and its coastal zones. The necessity to address collectively development and environment in order to build a sustainable future for the Mediterranean is already fully integrated by signatory countries.

The 22 Contracting Parties to the Barcelona Convention are Albania, Algeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, Egypt, France, Greece, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, Libya, Malta, Monaco, Morocco, Montenegro, Syrian Arab Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Tunisia, Türkiye and the European Union.

The Contracting Parties should take all appropriate measures in accordance with the provisions of this Convention and its Protocols in force to which they are Parties to prevent, reduce, combat and as far as possible eliminate pollution in the Mediterranean Sea Area and to protect and enhance the marine environment in that area with a view to contributing to its sustainable development. They also commit to implement the Mediterranean Action Plan and furthermore to protect the marine environment and the natural resources of the Mediterranean, meeting the needs of present and future generations in an equitable and fair manner.

The Contracting Parties will decide on the policies, strategies, budget and work programme of the WFP at Ministerial Meetings held every two years. They appoint Focal Points who review progress and ensure implementation of recommendations at national level.

Plan Bleu is one the Regional Activity Centres of the Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP) of United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), put in place by France since 1977.

To receive the latest news from the UNEP/MAP community, subscribe now to MED News – the MAP newsletter.

Plan Bleu
Building the Mediterannean’s future together